July 6, 2012

This morning I got up at 5 to drink Guayusa. Even though I can’t understand much Spanish it is really wonderful to experience storytelling around a fire with a delicious gourd of fresh hot tea. It is traditional to also pour some on your hands, and to wash your face with it, and rub it into the skin of your neck and arms. Yesterday a poet, musician, and artist named Carlos came to visit. He told me that he would like to share some of his poems and read some of mine. He is 66 and has been playing with the same band for 50 years. He is also an advocate for tradition and Kichwa culture. It is hard because there is a lot of racism towards this culture, especially from people in the cities. He has endless stories to tell, and I felt a lot better about my language frustrations when he told me that I should not feel bad about not understanding much Spanish, because they have the same difficulty with English, and that at least I am trying to learn. I hope he comes back to visit soon. I am attaching some photos from the past week.

About legoldstein

I will be embarking on a journey to Ecuador on June 24th, 2012 as a traveling Robert Pinsky fellow, thanks to donations made to the BU MFA program by Bob Hildreth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July 6, 2012

  1. Mike B says:

    I’m loving your writing and these photos, and I’m thrilled that you’re having such a great experience 🙂 And I’m glad you got your things back and that you seem to be enjoying the rural part of your trip. Looking forward to the next installment.

    • legoldstein says:

      Hey, Mike! Thanks. I am looking in to exchanging language with someone, because I think not knowing much Spanish is really the most challenging part of the trip so far. Hope you are doing well, I miss you!

  2. love the little girls, so cute. and what an interesting ritual 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

