June 4, 2012

I am almost done preparing for my trip (sort of).  Only 20 more days! I have my passport, my vaccines (finished the rabies series!) my prescription for malaria pills, and I have sent off the application for my visa. I have made some purchases recently- as you will see in the photograph- hiking boots, organic bug spray and sunscreen, a light rain jacket for wet hot days, and a mosquito net. I tell my friends the mosquito net is more for other unwanted creatures. I picture a tarantula sitting on my head in the morning. I would feel much better if there were a layer between us, even if it is only a very thin gauze-like layer. I have a few more things to purchase- but only small things like socks and Imodium A-D. Fingers crossed, I’ll get a new digital camera for an early birthday present. I’ve hinted. My cat, Mari, is unsure of my new purchases. Thanks to sis and niece for taking care of her while I’m gone!

About legoldstein

I will be embarking on a journey to Ecuador on June 24th, 2012 as a traveling Robert Pinsky fellow, thanks to donations made to the BU MFA program by Bob Hildreth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

